Second Day Parliament: PM Modi, Advani, Sonia take oath as Lok Sabha members

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is also the leader of the House, along with NDA Chairperson LK Advani and UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi were the first to take oath as Lok Sabha members. Interestingly, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj  took oath in Sanskrit. The oath was administered by Protem Speaker Kamal Nath.
This is the full text of the oath:
"I (name) having been elected (or nominated) a member of the House of the People do swear in the name of God/solemnly affirm that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India as by law established, that I will uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India and that I will faithfully discharge the duty upon which I am about to enter.”
Several ministers preferred to take oath in their mother tongue, including DV Sadananda Gowda, Ananth Kumar and GM Siddheshwara, who took oath in Kannada. Sarbananda Sonowal took oath in Assamese and Jual Oram in Odia.
Senior members Arjun Charan Sethi (BJD), PA Sangma (NPP) and Biren Singh Engti (Cong), appointed on the panel of chairpersons by the President to help the pro-tem Speaker in the oath-taking process, took oath after Prime Minister Modi, Advani and Gandhi.
On June 9, President Pranab Mukherjee will address the joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament, laying down the roadmap of the new government.
The discussion on the Motion of Thanks will take place on June 10 and 11 before the session is adjourned sine die.