Nagaur Rajasthan Parliamentary Constituency 2014, Nagaur Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Rajasthan Lok Sabha Elections 2014 News Updates, Nagaur Parliamentary Constituency details 2014, Nagaur MP Issues

Nagaur  Rajasthan Parliamentary Constituency 2014, Nagaur   Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Rajasthan Lok Sabha Elections 2014 News Updates, Nagaur   Parliamentary Constituency details 2014, Nagaur   MP Issues

About the Constituency:

The Parliamentary Constituency of Nagaur is one of the 25 Lok Sabha constituencies of Rajasthan formed before the 1952 elections and presently comprises of eight Vidhan Sabha segments of which one has been reserved for the SC category. The Nagaur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 14) consists of 1,486,307 number of electorates in totality, of these 775,129 are males and 711,178 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

About Nagaur:

The administrative headquarters of this district is situated in Nagaur which lies midway between Jodhpur and Bikaner. Nagaur district spans over an area of 17,718 sq. kms, making it the fifth largest district of Rajasthan. The town of Nagaur is situated at an average elevation of 302 metres roughly at the centre of the state. Hindi is the official language here with Marwadi being widely spoken by the locals.

As per the 2011 census, Nagaur district has a total population of 33,40,234 of which 50.29% are males and 49.71% are females. 14.93% of the total population is children under the age of six. The sex ratio is 948 females per 1,000 males. The overall literacy rate is 64.08%, with male literacy at 78.90% and female literacy at 48.63%. 51% of the total population is Hindu while 46% are Muslims. Nagaur has a number of schools and colleges present. Tourism industry forms a significant part of the economic system of the city. Nagaur is well connected to the rest of the state by a network of roads and railways. 

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Jyoti Mirdha



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Indian National Congress



Educational Qualification


 Performance in the15TH Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked