Kota Rajasthan Parliamentary Constituency 2014, Kota Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Rajasthan Lok Sabha Elections 2014 News Updates, Kota Parliamentary Constituency details 2014, Kota MP Issues

Kota  Rajasthan Parliamentary Constituency 2014, Kota   Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Rajasthan Lok Sabha Elections 2014 News Updates, Kota   Parliamentary Constituency details 2014, Kota   MP Issues

About the Constituency:

Headquarters of the Kota District, the constituency of Kota is one of the 25 Lok Sabha constituencies of Rajasthan state. It consists of eight legislative assembly segments and was formed prior to the elections of 1952. The total number of electorates in the Kota Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 24) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,498,971 of which 792,388 are males and 706,583 are females.

 About Kota:

The Kota city is the third largest city of Rajasthan and is located in the south-eastern part of Rajasthan at a distance of about 240 km south of the capital of the state. The city lies at an average elevation of 271 meters and covers a total area of 318 sq. km. Hindi is the official language of Kota with the native Harauti dialect being widely spoken as well. 

As per the census 2011, Kota has a total population of 1,001,365 of which 53% are males and 47% are females. The city of Kota has an average literacy rate of 83.65%, with male literacy at 90.56% and female literacy at 75.90%. It has a sex ratio of 912 females per 1000 males and 77% of the people are Hindus. The economy of this city is mainly driven by the nation-wide fame of its coaching centers. Besides, it is also the trade center for a variety of agricultural products. National Highways NH 12 and NH 76 pass through Kota.

A  Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Ijyaraj Singh



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Indian National Congress



Educational Qualification

Post Graduate

 Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked