Mayurbhanj Odisha Parliamentary Constituency 2014, Mayurbhanj Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Odisha Lok Sabha Elections 2014 News Updates, Mayurbhanj Parliamentary Constituency details 2014, Mayurbhanj MP Issues

Mayurbhanj  Odisha Parliamentary Constituency 2014, Mayurbhanj  Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Odisha Lok Sabha Elections 2014 News Updates, Mayurbhanj  Parliamentary Constituency details 2014, Mayurbhanj  MP Issues

About the Constituency:

Mayurbhanj Parliamentary Constituency, reserved for the ST category, is one of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies of Odisha and comprises of nine segments. 1,173,650 is the total electorate count in the Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5). Out of these 587,297 number of electorates are males and the remaining 586,353 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.

About Mayurbhanj:

It was formed before the 1951 elections. Mayurbhanj District is the third most densely populated district of the state and its headquarters are located in Baripada. The district is divided into four divisions. Covering an area of 10,418 sq km, it is the largest district of the state and has an average elevation of about 560 m. The prevalent languages here are Oriya, English and Hindi.

With a population density of 241 people per sq km, it is home to 2,513,895 people and has a sex ratio of 1005 females per 1000 males. It is the 171st most populous district of the country and had a population growth rate of 13.06% over the decade 2001-2011. It has an average literacy rate of 63.98% and has several schools and colleges. Agriculture is the primary economic activity here and being one of the 250 most backward districts of the country, it also receives funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. It is home to the Simplipal National Park, noted for being an important sanctuary for tigers. It has an extensive road and railways network.

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Laxman Tudu



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Biju Janata Dal



Educational Qualification


Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked